2018 ACEAD Council Elections.

Download the following  Word.docx documents for information on the available council positions and how to nominate a candidate to fill them

Constitution of The International Contemporary Ethnography Across the Disciplines Association (CEAD) Incorporated


In 2008, some thinkers of Te Tari o te Akoranga Takukau-a- Ora The Department of Sport and Leisure, Te Kura Toi Tangata/Faculty of Education, Te Whare Wānanga O Waikato/University of Waikato in Kirikiriroa/Hamilton Aotearoa/New Zealand, attentive to ethnographic research theories, methodologies, and practices, sought to create a meeting space in the Southern Hemisphere for ethnographic inquiry. In part, their prototype was the Qualitative Inquiry Congress organized by Norman Denzin at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA. Karen Barbour and Toni Bruce specifically envisioned Contemporary Ethnography Across the Disciplines (CEAD); Clive Pope originated the CEAD moniker; and the international CEAD Hui (Maori for meeting[s]) have been organized by Robert Rinehart. The 2010 and 2012 CEAD Hui, structured under the rubrics “emerging methods”; “practice and advocacy”; and “social justice and transformation”, birthed calls from participants for a formal CEAD association. Committees of volunteer Hui participants then began in 2012 to formalize a CEAD constitution.

Click to read the full Constitution

Current Executive Council Members


Jacquie Kidd, New Zealand



Vice President

Karen Barbour, New Zealand

Vice President-elect


Past President

Robert Rinehart


Antonio Garcia, Chile



Council Members


Meeting Minutes

2016 AGM Minutes – DRAFT